Bodmin Moor route panoramique

La route atteint le Maure à Roughtor, Cornwall deuxième rang Tor et se poursuit par Davidstow à Altarnun - la cathédrale des landes. À ce stade, vous pouvez opter pour un raccourci long de la route A30 encadrement passant Jamaica Inn rendu célèbre par Daphné du Maurier ou prendre la route plus longue qui monte au Minions avec ses maisons de moteurs nombreux, menhirs et curieux teur sous la forme d'un Cheesewring avant de redescendre vers Golitha Falls National Nature Reserve et St Neot, le retour à Jamaica Inn via Dozmary Pool et le Loveny réserve naturelle autour du lac Colliford. Vous pouvez ensuite rejoindre l'itinéraire de retour qui est dans le village saxon de Blisland avec son église ornée et St Breward où la lande est parsemée de vestiges du Néolithique et de l'Age du Bronze règlements.

  • 60 miles round trip (2.5 - 3 hours driving time) Itinéraire plus long: 60 miles aller-retour (2,5 - 3 heures de route)
  • 42 miles round trip (1.5 - 2 hours driving time) Le plus court: 42 miles aller-retour (1,5 - 2 heures de route)

Carte de la route


La route sortant est en bleu, la route la plus courte est indiquée en rouge et la route plus longue est en jaune; la route de retour dans les deux cas est en orange. Vous pouvez double-cliquer pour zoomer et faire glisser pour faire défiler la carte et cliquez sur l'une des icônes pour plus d'informations. Vous pouvez également afficher une version plus grande de la carte dans un nouvel onglet / fenêtre.

Instructions

Roi Arthur pierre près Slaughterbridge en Cornouailles du Nord
Arthur pierre
Camelford - une ville de marché en Cornouailles du Nord - lors de la célébration charte 750 années
750 célébration charte année
Aube sur roughtor
Aube sur Roughtor
Roughtor sur Bodmin Moor en Cornouailles
Roughtor
La route vers Roughtor de Camelford sur Bodmin Moor
La route vers Roughtor
Bodmin Moor
Bodmin Moor près de Davidstow
Reservior Crowdy à l'aube
Reservior Crowdy à l'aube
Alternun
Altarnun
Alternun à l'automne
Couleurs d'automne dans Altarnun
Sculptures médiévales à St Nonna dans Alternun
Sculptures médiévales
Norman police à St Nonna dans Alternun
Norman police
Pâturage des chevaux sur Bodmin Moor près de Minions
Pâturage des chevaux sur Bodmin Moor
Cheesewring près de Minions
Cheesewring près de Minions
Doniert roi de pierre
Doniert roi de pierre
Cascades Rivière à Golitha chutes
Rivière Fowey au Golitha chutes
Ce chemin de hêtres au Golithia chutes
Beech Avenue à Golitha chutes
Cascades Rivière à Golitha chutes
Chutes de Golitha
Le parc du village Blisland
Blisland Village Green
L'église de Blisland
Blisland église
L'écran richement décoré dans Blisland Eglise
Décoré écran
Jubilé Rock près de Blisland à Cornwall
Jubilé Rocher
Vue sur Bodmin Moor près de St Breward
Bodmin Moor près de St Breward
Old Inn à St Breward
Old Inn à St Breward
Casehill près de St Breward
  • Tournez à droite sur la B3263 et faire baisser les Trewarmett colline et la vallée des ardoisières passant de chaque côté. En haut de la route est un virage serré à gauche de ce qui est Condolden Barrow (l'accès est un chemin vers la gauche).
  • L'emplacement et les proportions massives de Condolden Barrow suggère que le chiffre d'une importance considérable est enterré ici. Thomas Hardy l'a présenté comme le dernier lieu de repos de la reine Iseult dans son jeu, la célèbre tragédie de la reine de Cornouailles, au sujet d'un couple d'amoureux maudits, Tristan et Isolde, qui étaient un peu comme Lancelot et Guenièvre.

    Plusieurs spécialistes croient que la brouette est le lieu de sépulture de Cador, le roi du sixième siècle de Cornwall. Dans le poème du 12ème siècle Le rêve de Rhonabwy, Cador est décrit comme l'un des chevaliers d'Arthur et aurait conduit les guerriers britanniques dans leur déroute de l'armée saxonne Ouest lors du siège de Mont Badon. Cador est également mentionné dans Geoffroy de Monmouth Histoire des rois de Bretagne à titre de porte épée d'Arthur lors de son couronnement et un gardien de Guenièvre.

  • Suivez la route principale du virage à droite et à une jonction en T. Au tournant jonction en T à gauche sur la B3314 vers Camelford.
  • La route sort à un carrefour en quinconce, aller tout droit vers Slaughterbridge.
  • Sur le chemin de Camelford (venant de Park Farm), est Slaughterbridge - un règlement très ancien qui est dit de prendre son nom de deux batailles qui ont eu lieu à proximité durant le haut Moyen Age. Un voyageur du XVIe siècle, a noté la découverte de l'armure et les os de nombreux soldats alors qu'il labourait la prairie au Slaughterbridge. Toutefois, le nom du pont est ambigu, car «l'abattage» pourrait signifier «boueux» de l'ancienne traduction Anglais - un certain nombre de sites d'intérêt archéologie toujours en cours de fouille peut confirmer les batailles ici.

    Juste avant d'arriver au pont est le Centre arthurien . Ici, à côté de la rivière à Slaughterbridge est une pierre commémorative du 6ème siècle connu sous le nom "pierre d'Arthur» inscrit en latin et ogham (Celtic script) commémorant un chieftan celtique. Legends relier la pierre à la bataille de Camelan où les contes disent Arthur tuer Mordred et était lui-même mortellement blessé.

  • Traverser le pont et tourner à droite au niveau du coude. Suivre la route qui se termine en Trefrew une jonction en T à Camelford. Il ya un parking gratuit juste à droite de la jonction si vous voulez arrêter à Camelford.
  • Camelford est la ville du marché local qui a obtenu son statut de ville en 1259 après avoir obtenu sa première charte par le roi Henri III. Dans le centre de Camelford, ce qui est aujourd'hui la bibliothèque était autrefois l'hôtel de ville et de la zone pavée elle se trouve dans ce qui était autrefois la place du marché. Camelford Hôtel de ville a été construit en 1806 sur le Market House, où dans les années 1800 une femme pouvait être acheté pour 2-3 shillings!

  • De la jonction de tour à gauche Slaughterbridge, en prenant la A39 au nord de Camelford et prendre la prochaine à droite (route Roughtor) qui, comme son nom l'indique conduit à Roughtor. A l'extrémité est du parc de voitures à partir de laquelle vous pouvez marcher jusqu'à Roughtor si le cœur vous en dit (il est environ un demi-mile de marche vers le haut).
  • Roughtor et légèrement plus élevé Brown Willy assis côte à côte, juste au sud de Davidstow Moor. Roughtor peut être atteint par la route de Camelford et il ya un petit parking à partir de laquelle vous pouvez marcher sur les pentes du sommet.

    Le sommet de Roughtor est entouré par une série de bruts néolithiques murs de pierre qui relient des affleurements naturels pour former une enceinte teur. Egalement sur le sommet sont les fondations d'une chapelle médiévale construite sur le flanc d'une des plus grande des cairns.

  • Backtrack sur la route Roughtor et prendre la première à droite à un carrefour, cette route passe Reservior Crowdy
  • Crowdy réservoir, alimenté par le ruissellement et le drainage des marais environnant, se trouve dans le site Bodmin Moor d'intérêt scientifique spécial. Les banques, sauf autour de la réserve naturelle, sont ouverts pour la marche et pique-nique et une peau d'oiseaux, ouvert à tous les visiteurs, est une agréable promenade de 20 minutes, depuis le parking le long de la rive nord. Il ya souvent des échassiers néarctiques en automne et en troupeaux spectaculaires d'étourneaux autour de Davidstow en hiver. Le lac est approvisionné en-ciel et la truite brune. À condition d'avoir une licence de pêche, vous pourrez pêcher gratuitement par filage, volée ou appât. En reconnaissance de la haute valeur de conservation de ce lac, pas d'autres activités, en dehors de la truite sauvage, pêche à la ligne sans se déroulent à cet endroit.

  • La route suit ensuite l'une des pistes de Davidstow aérodrome WW2
  • RAF Davidstow Moor était une base aérienne à partir de la fin 1942 jusqu'en 1945. L'aérodrome a été fermé en Décembre 1945 pour devenir un circuit automobile, connu sous le nom de circuit Davidstow. Au début des années 1950 trois courses de Formule Un ont eu lieu là-bas (les Cornouailles MRC courses de Formule 1), y compris le premier succès pour la marque Lotus. Aujourd'hui, la tour de contrôle principale est encore bien visible sur le terrain d'aviation. A l'aérodrome de Davistow et Cornwall au Musée de la guerre a été mis en place pour commémorer le travail et les gens de la RAF Davidstow Moor.

  • La route se termine à un carrefour en T, tourner à droite et suivre la route à travers la lande à un virage serré avec le Rising Sun Inn - une auberge du 16ème siècle construit à l'origine comme une ferme qui sert de la bière brassée localement.
  • Juste après le coin, prenez à droite et suivez la route à travers Treween et dans Altarnun.
  • Pour le Nord-Est de Bodmin Moor est le joli village de Altarnun . Le nom du village est une corruption de «Autel de St Nonna", l'église est connue comme "la cathédrale des landes" en raison de sa tour impressionnante hauteur 109ft. Le vieux presbytère près de l'église a été présenté par Daphné Du Maurier au Jamaica Inn.

  • Suivre la route à travers Altarnun et en cinq voies.

Si vous voulez un itinéraire plus court, vous pouvez sauter la section ci-dessous entre les lignes pointillées en tournant à droite sur la A30 jusqu'à la Jamaica Inn. Sinon, suivez les instructions de cette section pour une route plus longue via Minions et Golitha Falls:

  • Prenez la deuxième à gauche au rond-point à Trevague et suivre la voie. Lorsque vous arriverez à une bifurcation, suivre à gauche (pas l'impasse) à Trevague (ne pas tourner à droite dans l'impasse suivante, il suffit de suivre la voie de vent).
  • La voie vient en intersection en T sur une route B, tourner à droite vers Callington ingoring tous les tours jusqu'à ce que vous atteigniez Boutique Congdon (le dernier virage avant Congdon Boutique est un virage à droite pour Trethorne).
  • A Boutique Congdon tourner à droite vers Liskeard au carrefour de l'mémorial de guerre et suivre la B3254 (indiquant Liskeard) jusqu'à ce que vous atteigniez Upton Cross.
  • En Upton Cross, tourner à droite pour Minions au carrefour et suivre la voie de la colline de Minions
  • Minions est un petit village à l'angle sud-est de Bodmin Moor, avec la plupart des villages étant plus de 300m il prétend être le plus haut village à Cornwall, rivalisant St Breward. Les alentours de Minions est belle campagne offrant une richesse d'intérêt archéologique de l'âge du Bronze ancien à l'étain et le cuivre des mines qui s'est terminée au début du siècle dernier. Une des salles des machines de la mine South Pheonix a été transformé en centre du patrimoine Minions qui inteprets l'histoire du paysage environnant.

    Le Cheesewring sur Stowes Hill, près de Minions est un tor surmonté d'une formation rocheuse naturelle de dalles de granit créés par la glaciation et l'érosion pendant des milliers d'années. Il ressemble à un "Cheesewring", un dispositif de presse-comme cela a été précédemment utilisé pour la fabrication du fromage.

  • Suivez la route principale qui traverse Minions jusqu'à ce que vous arrivez à un carrefour. Tournez à droite (vous pouvez éventuellement prendre un petit détour vers la gauche pour voir Quoit Trethevy puis double retour à cette intersection).
  • Pierre Roi Doniert l' (deux fragments d'une grosse pierre à l'origine surmonté d'croix de bois) date du 9ème siècle et commémore la mort de Dungarth le roi de Cornouaille qui s'est noyé dans la rivière Fowey près Golitha Falls, à peu près au moment où les Anglo-Saxons étaient prendre le contrôle de l'est de Cornwall.

  • Passez la pierre roi Doniert sur votre gauche et tourner à droite pour Golitha chutes. Les fourches de route, prendre à gauche la fourche balisé Golitha Falls. Aller sur un pont et le parking est sur la droite.
  • Au Golitha Falls National Nature Reserve , les cascades de la rivière Fowey par une jolie vallée recouverte d'un mélange de vieux bois et d'une avenue de hêtres. Une trajectoire circulaire d'environ 1 km pistes autour de la réserve. Il ya aussi une route plus courte pavée d'environ 400m.

    Au printemps, la vallée est tapissée de jacinthes et en automne les arbres sont de couleurs vives. En été, regarder dehors pour papillons bois comme l'orange et le noir argenté lavé fritilliary, les mâles sont attirés par des objets orange y compris les indicateurs de voiture et sacs de transport Sainsburys "!

  • Tourner à droite sur la Golitha voiture des chutes du parc, suivre la voie de montée et en deux vallées et jusqu'à une colline escarpée. Continuer tout droit au carrefour une autre colline escarpée. Au carrefour en T, tourner à droite à St Neot et Colliford lac.
  • Il est probable que le village de St. Neot, à l'abri le plus rugueux des coups de vent, tire ses origines de la saint celtique, Anietus. Il a vécu dans la région qui porte son nom, au IXe siècle et l'église actuelle lui est dédié. Dans le Domesday Survey Saint Neot est d'abord enregistré comme «Neotstow» et nous dit que la maison il ya religieuse ici, a été enregistré comme l'a jugé "Godric le prêtre"

    Le bien-Esprit de St. Neot est un ancien site d'intérêt historique. Il ya beaucoup d'histoires de St. Neot concernant le bien-Esprit. Il est dit s'être arrêté dans le quotidien. Ainsi la récitation du Psautier L'histoire raconte qu'un jour, par la révélation d'un ange, il trouva trois poissons dans le puits. Il a été instruit de ne jamais prendre plus d'un poisson. Certains de temps après, il tomba malade et son Barius serviteur alla au puits et a pris deux poissons. Il les cuisine et les ont emmenés à son maître. St. Neot ordonné que les deux poissons sont retournés au bien où ils ont été miraculeusement ramené à la vie.

    L'église actuelle de Saint-Anietus est un bâtiment datant du fin 15e granit, dans le style perpendiculaire. Il conserve beaucoup de son vitraux médiévaux dans douze des fenêtres.

  • Tourner à droite à nouveau pour Colliford lac. Suivez voie de grimper sur la lande avec vue sur la lande à roughtor et Brown Willy.
  • Lorsque vous arrivez à un carrefour en T, prendre le virage à droite en direction de mettre en commun Dozmary.
  • Sur la partie sud de la lande près de Bolventor est Dozmary Pool , Cornwall ne intérieur des terres lac naturel qui n'a pas d'entrées visibles, et est alimenté par des ruisseaux en dessous de la tourbe landes. Les sections locales a dit qu'il n'avait pas de fond, mais au 19ème siècle ce fut révélée être fausse lorsque le fond a été révélé au cours d'une sécheresse. Une autre légende est que le Treheage géant a été fait pour le vider à l'aide d'une coquille de patelle - une tâche qu'il atteint avec une telle vigueur qu'il inondé St Neot. Célèbre poème de Tennyson sur la "Mort d'Arthur" en vedette Loe Pool comme emplacement pour une main invisible passant d'un lac à saisir Arthur l'épée Excalibur, mais beaucoup de gens prétendent que Dozmary Pool est un endroit plus probable pour la légende.

  • Passez Colliford lac sur votre gauche et piscine Dozmary sur votre droite.
  • Au sud de l'autoroute A30, l' Loveny réserve naturelle est un important site ornithologique qui comprend Colliford lac (le plus grand réservoir de Bodmin Moor) et entourant la lande. Il est la propriété conjointe entre la Fiducie et le Cornwall Wildlife Observation des oiseaux et de Cornwall Preservation Society .

  • Suivre la route tout le chemin à Bolventor où il se termine par une jonction T près de Jamaica Inn
  • Le Jamaica Inn Bolventor proximité est un relais de poste construit en 1750 qui a été rendu célèbre par Daphné du Marier dans son livre du même nom. Les voyageurs fatigués en utilisant l'autoroute à péage entre Launceston et Bodmin resterait à l'auberge après avoir traversé la lande sauvage et perfide. Le Jamaica Inn est dit par certains d'être fondée par un colon à la retraite jamaïcain - dont le «gras-risque» de la construction d'une auberge peut-être donné son nom Bolventor. D'autres pensent que l'auberge peut avoir obtenu son nom parce qu'il a fait un commerce considérable de rhum! Rattaché à la pub est un musée dédié à la contrebande Cornish et Daphné du Marier.

  • Tournez à gauche sur l'autoroute A30.

L'itinéraire raccourci reprend ici:

  • Suivre l'A30 à partir de Jamaica Inn jusqu'à ce qu'il se transforme en une seule chaussée. Ignorer le virage à droite à St Breward et passer temple de la pêche sur la gauche et continuer sur la colline
  • Tournez à droite au carrefour pour Blisland et St Breward.
  • La voie se termine par un raccord en T. Tourner à droite pour Blisland.
  • Blisland se trouve sur le flanc ouest de la Lande. Contrairement à d'autres villages de Cornouailles, les maisons sont groupées autour d'un village vert indiquant origines saxonnes. Sur le coin du vert est Blisland Manor, qui est beaucoup plus récente, datant du 16ème siècle. Il ya 7 calvaires païens Blisland (sur 360 à Cornouailles). On est près du bureau de poste du village, et un autre sur la route menant à Bodmin, à mi-chemin en descendant la colline avant le pont.

  • Suivez la voie de dépassement d'un tournant sur le droit à Waterloo, sur un pont, sur une colline devant une croix de chemin jusqu'à ce que vous atteigniez Blisland. En Blisland l'église est sur votre gauche et le vert sur votre droite.
  • - SX 10361 74376) near Pendrift is a natural granite boulder carved with Britannia, royalty, and nobel coats of arms by Lieutenant John Rogers in 1809/10 and updated on special occasions with new carvings. Jubilé Rock (50.53832; -4.67761 - SX 10361 74376), près de Pendrift est un rocher de granit naturel sculpté avec Britannia, la royauté, et les manteaux nobel de bras par le lieutenant John Rogers en 1809/10 et mis à jour lors d'occasions spéciales avec de nouvelles sculptures.

  • Prendre la route Tregenna de Blisland à St Breward (le tournant vers St Breward se trouve sur le côté opposé du vert de l'Église devant le manoir)
  • Continuez tout droit jusqu'à la voie (pas gauche à Waterloo). Plus loin sur la voie que vous atteignez un carrefour. Au carrefour prendre à droite en direction de St Breward et Temple.
  • Suivez la route à travers la lande et le prendre à gauche vers St Breward et Camelford.
  • À St Breward, continuez tout droit au carrefour.
  • Le village de St Breward est sur le nord-ouest de Bodmin Moor et la paroisse couvertures Roughtor et Brown Willy. Le nom du village est dit par certains à venir à partir du 6ème siècle Cornish Saint Branwalader et d'autres d'un évêque d'Exeter 13ème siècle, le village a été précédemment appelé Simonward après, la légende raconte, le brasseur maison du Roi Arthur.

  • Suivez la route qui traverse St Breward-delà de la pub et de l'église sur votre droite, puis suivre les panneaux Camelford. Tournez à droite et encore à droite sur la B3266.
  • Tournez à droite sur la B3266 et suivez nord en direction de Camelford où elle rejoint l'A39.
  • Dès que vous rejoignez l'A39, prendre à gauche le garage en face Truckle vallée et suivez le chemin du retour à la croisée des chemins Station de Camelford, où vous tournez à gauche en direction de Delabole sur la B3314 au carrefour, puis immédiatement à droite en direction de Tintagel qui vous permet de revenir passé Condolden Barrow à Trewarmett.

Bodmin Moor scenic drive

The route reaches the Moor at Roughtor, Cornwall's second-highest Tor and continues via Davidstow to Altarnun - the cathedral of the moors. At this point you can opt for a shortcut along the A30 coaching route passing Jamaica Inn made famous by Daphne du Maurier or take the longer route which climbs up to Minions with its many engine houses, standing stones and curious tor in the shape of a Cheesewring before descending to Golitha Falls National Nature Reserve and St Neot, returning to Jamaica Inn via Dozmary Pool and the Loveny nature reserve around Colliford Lake. You then rejoin the return route which is through the saxon village of Blisland with its ornate church and St Breward where the moor is studded with the remains of Neolithic and Bronze Age settlements.

  • Longer route:60 miles round trip (2.5 - 3 hours driving time)
  • Shorter route:42 miles round trip (1.5 - 2 hours driving time)

Map of the route


The outbound route is in blue; the short route is shown in red and the longer route is in yellow; the return route in both cases is in orange. You can double-click to zoom in and drag to scroll the map, and click on any of the icons for more information. You can also view a larger version of the map in a new tab/window.

Directions

King Arthur's stone near Slaughterbridge in North Cornwall
Arthur's stone
Camelford - a market town in North Cornwall - during the 750 year charter celebration
750 year charter celebration
Dawn over roughtor
Dawn over Roughtor
Roughtor on Bodmin Moor in Cornwall
Roughtor
The road to Roughtor from Camelford on Bodmin Moor
The road to Roughtor
Bodmin Moor
Bodmin Moor near Davidstow
Crowdy reservior at dawn
Crowdy reservior at dawn
Alternun
Altarnun
Alternun in Autumn
Autumn colours in Altarnun
Medieval carvings at St Nonna's in Alternun
Medieval carvings
Norman font at St Nonna's in Alternun
Norman Font
Horse grazing on Bodmin Moor near Minions
Horse grazing on Bodmin Moor
Cheesewring near Minions
Cheesewring near Minions
King Doniert's Stone
King Doniert's Stone
River cascades at Golitha Falls
River Fowey at Golitha Falls
Path under beech trees at Golithia Falls
Beech avenue at Golitha Falls
River cascades at Golitha Falls
Golitha Falls
The village green in Blisland
Blisland Village Green
The church in Blisland
Blisland church
The elaborately decorated screen in Blisland Church
Decorated screen
Jubilee Rock near Blisland in Cornwall
Jubilee Rock
View over Bodmin Moor near St Breward
Bodmin Moor near St Breward
Old Inn at St Breward
Old Inn at St Breward
Casehill near St Breward
  • Turn right onto the B3263 and drive down Trewarmett Hill and up the valley passing slate quarries on either side. At the top of the road is a sharp bend to the left of which is Condolden Barrow (access is up a lane to the left).
  • The location, overlooking Tintagel, and massive proportions of Condolden Barrow suggests that a figure of considerable importance is buried here. Thomas Hardy presented it as the final resting place of Queen Isolde in his play, The Famous Tragedy of the Queen of Cornwall, about a pair of doomed lovers, Tristan and Isolde, who were much like Lancelot and Guinevere.

    Many scholars believe that the barrow is the burial place of Cador, the sixth century king of Cornwall. In the 12th century poem The Dream of Rhonabwy, Cador is described as one of Arthur's knights and is said to have led the British warriors in their rout of the West Saxon army at the Siege of Mount Badon. Cador is also mentioned in Geoffrey of Monmouth's History of the Kings of Britain as Arthur's sword bearer at his coronation and a caretaker of Guinevere.

  • Follow the main road round the sharp bend to the right and to a T-junction. At the T-junction turn left on the B3314 towards Camelford.
  • The road comes out at a staggered crossroads, go straight across towards Slaughterbridge.
  • Slaughterbridge, located north of Camelford on the road from Delabole to the A39, a very old settlement which is said to take its name from two battles which took place nearby during the Early Middle Ages. A sixteenth-century traveler noted the discovery of the armour and bones of many soldiers while ploughing the meadow at Slaughterbridge. However the name of the bridge is ambiguous as 'Slaughter' could mean 'muddy' from the old English translation - a number of sites of archealogical interest still being excavated may confirm the battles here.

    Just before you reach the bridge is the Arthurian Centre. Here, beside the river at Slaughterbridge is a 6th century memorial stone known as "Arthur's stone" inscribed in Latin and ogham (Celtic script) commemorating a Celtic chieftan. Legends link the stone to the Battle of Camelan where the tales say Arthur slay Mordred and was himself fatally wounded.

  • Cross the bridge and turn right at the bend. Follow Trefrew road which ends in a T-junction in Camelford. There is a free car park just to the right of the junction if you want to stop in Camelford.
  • Camelford is a market town on the edge of Bodmin Moor. Camelford gained its status as a town in 1259 after being granted its first Charter by King Henry III. In the town centre, the library was once the Town Hall; the cobbled area that it stands in used to be the market square. Camelford Town hall was erected in 1806 over the Market House, where in the early 1800s, a wife could be bought for 2-3 shillings!

  • From the junction from Slaughterbridge turn left, taking the A39 north out of Camelford and take the next right (Roughtor Road) which as the name suggests leads to Roughtor. At the far end is a Car Park from which you can walk up Roughtor if the fancy takes you (it's about half a mile walk to the top).
  • Rough Tor is the second highest peak on Bodmin Moor. It is pronouced "row-tor" because the local dialect word "row" meant "rough". The summit of Rough Tor is encircled by a series of rough Neolithic stone walls which link natural outcrops, to form a tor enclosure. Also on the summit are the foundations of a mediaeval chapel, built into the side of one of the larger cairns.

  • Backtrack on Roughtor road and take the first right at a crossroads, this road passes Crowdy Reservior
  • Crowdy reservoir is situated within the Bodmin Moor Site of Special Scientific Interest and is fed by run-off and drainage from surrounding moorland. The banks, except around the Nature Reserve, are open for walking and picnicking and a bird hide, open to all visitors, is a pleasant 20 minute walk from the car park along the north bank. There are often Nearctic waders in autumn and spectacular flocks of starlings around Davidstow in the winter. The lake is stocked with rainbow and brown trout. Provided you have a rod licence you can fish for free by spinning, fly or bait. In recognition of the high conservation value of this lake, no other activities, apart from free wilderness trout angling, take place at this location.

  • The road then follows one of the WW2 runways from Davidstow airfield
  • The paved areas on Davidstow Moor that the road runs alongside and form an intriguing pattern on satellite maps are the remains of RAF Davidstow Moor, and the main control tower is still clearly visible. Constructed during World War 2, RAF Davidstow Moor was used as an airbase from late 1942 until December 1945. The air base was used mainly by the Americans and Canadians for training in the run up to D-Day and were visited by General Eisenhower during 1944. However, the frequent moorland mist rendered the base unusable for much of the time which is why it was closed after the war.

    After the airfield closed, it became a motor racing circuit, known as Davidstow Circuit. In the early 1950s, three Formula One races were held there (the Cornwall MRC Formula 1 Races), including the first success for the Lotus marque.

    Today, part of the airfield is still used by the Davidstow Flying Club (on the less misty days), and the Davidstow Airfield and Cornwall At War Museum has been set up to commemorate the work and people of RAF Davidstow Moor.

  • The road ends in a T-junction, turn right and follow the road across the moor to a sharp bend with the Rising Sun Inn - a 16th century inn built originally as a farmhouse which serves locally brewed beer.
  • Just past the corner take a right turn and follow the road through Treween and into Altarnun.
  • Altarnun is a pretty village to the north-east of Bodmin Moor. The name "Altarnun" is a corruption of "Altar of St Nonna" although the village was originally known by the Cornish name Penpont (hence the name of the river - Penpont Water). The Old Rectory near the church was featured by Daphne Du Maurier in "Jamaica Inn".

  • Follow the road through Altarnun and into Five Lanes.

If you want a shorter route, you can skip the section below between the dotted lines by turning right onto the the A30 until you reach Jamaica Inn. Otherwise follow the directions in this section for a longer route via Minions and Golitha Falls:

  • Take the second left at the roundabout to Trevague and follow the lane. When you reach a fork, follow the left fork (not the dead end) to Trevague (don't turn right down next dead end, just follow the windy lane).
  • The lane comes out in T junction on a B road; turn right towards Callington ingoring all the turnings until you reach Congdon's Shop (the last turn before Congdon's Shop is a right turn to Trethorne).
  • At Congdon's Shop turn right towards Liskeard at the crossroads by the war memorial and follow the B3254 (signposted to Liskeard) until you reach Upton Cross.
  • In Upton Cross, turn right to Minions at the crossroads and follow the lane up the hill to Minions
  • Minions is a small village on the south-east corner of Bodmin Moor. Near the car park, one of the engine houses of the South Pheonix mine has been converted into the a heritage centre which interprets the history of the surrounding landscape. The area surrounding Minions offers a wealth of archaeological interest from early Bronze Age to the Tin and Copper Mining which finished early in the last century. Most of the village is over 300m, and Minions claims to be the highest village in Cornwall, rivalling St Breward.

    The Cheesewring is a tor on Stowes Hill near Minions. The tor gets is name because it is topped with a natural rock formation that looks like the press with a stack of weights that was used to make cheese (and also cider as the apple pulp was known as "cheese"). The cheesewring was a well-known landscape feature by Tudor times and it featured in large illustrations in the margins of Cornwall maps at the end of this period. The granite slabs, which appear to have been balanced, were created by erosion over many thousands of years.

  • Follow the main road through Minions until you reach a junction. Turn right (you can optionally take a short diversion to the left to see Trethevy Quoit and then double back to this junction).
  • King Doniert's Stone, located near Golitha Falls, consists of two stone fragments of an ancient memorial cross which is thought might have originally been topped with a wooden cross. It dates from the 9th Century and commemorates the death of Dungarth the King of Cornwall, who drowned in the River Fowey nearby at about the time when the Anglo-Saxons were gaining control of eastern Cornwall. The shorter stone has an Anglo-Saxon inscription which has been translated as "Doniert has asked prayers for his Soul".

  • Pass King Doniert's stone on your left and turn right to golitha falls. The road forks; take the left fork signposted Golitha Falls. Go over a bridge and the car park is on the right.
  • At the Golitha Falls National Nature Reserve, the River Fowey cascades through a pretty valley covered in a mixture of ancient woodland and a beech avenue. A circular path of about 1km runs around the reserve. There is also a shorter paved route of about 400m.

    In spring, the valley is carpeted with bluebells and in autumn, the trees are vivid colours. In summer, look out for woodland butterflies such as the orange and black silver-washed fritilliary; the males are attracted to orange items including car indicators and Sainsburys' carrier bags!

  • Turn right out of the Golitha falls car park; follow the lane uphill and down into two valleys and up a steep hill. Go straight on at the crossroads up another steep hill. At the T junction turn right to St Neot and Colliford lake.
  • It is likely the village of St. Neot, sheltered from the roughest of gales, owes its origins to the Celtic saint, Anietus. He lived in the area that bears his name in the ninth century and the present church is dedicated to him. In the Domesday Survey, St. Neot is first recorded as "Neotstow" and it tells us that there was a religious house here, recorded as held by "Godric the priest".

  • Turn right again to colliford lake. Follow lane climbing up onto the moor with views across the moor to roughtor and brown willy.
  • When you come to a T junction take the right turn signposted to Dozmary pool.
  • Dozmary Pool is located on the southern part of the moor near Bolventor. It is Cornwall's only natural inland lake which has no visible inlets, and is fed by rivulets underneath the heathland peat. Locals once said it was bottomless, but in the 19th century this was proved to be false when the bottom was revealed during a drought. Another legend was that the giant Treheage was made to drain it using a limpet shell - a task he achieved with such vigour that he flooded St Neot. Tennyson's famous poem on the "Mort d'Arthur" featured Loe Pool as the location for a ghostly hand rising from a lake to grasp Arthur's sword Excalibur, but many people claim that Dozmary Pool is a more likely location for the legend.

  • Pass Colliford lake on your left and Dozmary pool on your right.
  • The Loveny Reserve is an area of Bodmin Moor to the south of the A30. The nature reserve is an important ornithological site which includes Colliford Lake and surrounding moorland. It is jointly owned between the Cornwall Wildlife Trust and the Cornwall Birdwatching and Preservation Society.

  • Follow road all the way to Bolventor where it ends in a T junc near Jamaica Inn
  • The Jamaica Inn near Bolventor is a coaching inn built in 1750 that was made famous by Daphne du Marier in her book of the same name. Weary travellers using the turnpike between Launceston and Bodmin would stay at the Inn after having crossed the wild and treacherous moor. The Jamaica Inn is said by some to be founded by a retired Jamaican settler - whose 'bold venture' of building an inn may have given Bolventor its name. Others think the Inn may have got its name because it did a considerable trade in rum! Attached to the pub is a museum dedicated to Cornish Smuggling and Daphne du Marier.

  • Turn left onto the A30.

The shortened route resumes here:

  • Follow the A30 from Jamaica Inn until it turns into single carriageway. Ignore right turn to st breward and pass temple fishery on left and carry on up the hill
  • Turn right at the crossroads to Blisland and St Breward.
  • The lane ends in a T junction. Turn right to Blisland.
  • Blisland is a small village which lies on the western flank of the Bodmin Moor, perched above the valley of the River Camel. Unlike most other Cornish villages, the houses of Blisland are grouped around a village green indicating Saxon origins. On the corner of the green is Blisland Manor which is much more recent, dating from the 16th Century. There are 7 wayside crosses in Blisland (out of 360 in Cornwall) including one near the village post office.

  • Follow lane passing a turning on right to Waterloo, over a bridge, up a hill past a wayside cross until you reach Blisland. In Blisland the church is on your left and the green on your right.
  • Located near Pendrift on the northern edge of Blisland, Jubilee Rock is a large natural granite boulder which originally supported another large balancing rock (known locally as a logan stone). It is now a Grade II listed monument as it is covered with carvings of Britannia, royalty, and Coats of Arms. It was originally carved in 1809-10 for George III's Golden Jubilee by Lieutenant John Rogers. It was updated with new carvings in 1859 and 1887 for Queen Victoria's Golden Jubilee and the carvings were restored for the 2012 Diamond Jubilee of Elizabeth II. A brass plate now in Bodmin Town Museum was originally fixed to the rock containing lines of verse composed by John Rogers. In 2010, the plate was temporarily reattached to the rock for a 200 year celebration which involved attempts at singing the verses John Rogers had composed.

  • Take Tregenna Road out of Blisland to St Breward (the turning to St Breward is on the opposite side of the green from the Church past the manor house)
  • Go straight up the lane (not left to Waterloo). Further along the lane you reach a crossroads. At the crossroads bear right signposted St Breward and Temple.
  • Follow the lane across moorland and the take the left turn to St Breward and Camelford.
  • In St Breward, go straight over the crossroads.
  • St Breward is on the northwest side of Bodmin moor and the parish covers both Roughtor and Brown Willy. The name of the village is said by some to come from the 6th century Cornish Saint Branwalader. Others say it is from a 13th century bishop of Exeter. Previously the village was called Simonward which, according to legend, was the name of the brewer to King Arthur's household although that might have been concocted in the Old Inn after a few ales.

  • Follow the road through St Breward past the pub and church on your right, then follow signs to Camelford. Turn right and right again onto the B3266.
  • Turn right onto the B3266 and follow it north back towards Camelford where it joins the A39.
  • As soon as you join the A39, take the left opposite Valley Truckle garage and then follow the road back to the Camelford Station crossroads, where you turn left towards Delabole onto the B3314 at the crossroads, then immediately right towards Tintagel which leads you back past Condolden Barrow to Trewarmett.