Tintagel Haven (Castle Beach)

Tintagel Haven - der Strand neben Tintagel Castle in North Cornwall
Tintagel Haven
Tintagel Haven - von Tintagel Castle in North Cornwall fotografiert von Angela Channing
Blick von der Burg
Tintagel Haven - Sonnenuntergang von Barras Nose
Sonnenuntergang von Barras Nose
Merlins Cave unter Tintagel Castle, von innen fotografiert mit Blick auf Tintagel Haven
Blick aus Merlins Cave
Kayaking at Tintagel Haven
Kayaking in Tintagel Haven

Unterhalb der der Insel, Tintagel Castle thront auf einem kleinen geschützten Kieselstrand lokal als Castle Beach bekannt, obwohl auf Karten Sie werden sehen es als Tintagel Haven markiert ist.

Schiefer aus den Küstenregionen Steinbrüchen wurde hier mit dem Esel gebracht und verladen gestrandeter Schiffe. Um sie rund um die gefährlichen Felsen manövrieren, waren Schiffe "humpelte" (gezogen von Ruderbooten dann durch Banden von Männern Ziehen an Seilen manouvred).

Auf der linken Seite des Strandes, geht Merlins Cave den ganzen Weg unter der Insel und auf der anderen Seite, und auf der Rückseite des Strandes ist ein Wasserfall, wo der Bach durch das Vale of Avalon das Meer trifft.

Durch Castle Island auf der linken und Barras Nose auf der rechten Seite geschützt, es ist ein guter Ort zum Schwimmen oder Schnorcheln und ist reich an Meerestieren. Es gibt Seetang entlang jeder Seite von Pollack, Bass und verschiedene Arten von wrasse und Kegelrobben bewohnt sind oft um.

Es gibt einen großen flachen Felsen gerade aus auf der rechten Seite vom Strand, die Sie klettern können, um von der Küste Weg. Dies ist ein guter Ort, um aus der Flut für Makrele, Seebarsch und in der Dämmerung, Pollack.

Obwohl die geschützte Strand ist im Prinzip ein guter Ort, um Kajaks starten, stellen der Mangel an Parkplätzen und die lange Treppe zum Strand diese schwieriger (aber nicht unmöglich).

Anfahrt

Sie können entlang der Küste Weg vom Fuß Trebarwith Strand Tintagel Haven (etwa eine Meile), so dass Sie tun können, ein 4-5 Meile Rundweg ab Park Farm und wieder zurück über Tintagel (es gibt einen Rundweg vorgezeichnet auf unseren Spaziergängen Seite ). Alternativ, wenn Sie fahren, es gibt ein paar Möglichkeiten zum Parken:

  • Park am St Materiana Kirche (5 Autominuten) und zu Fuß 15 Minuten entlang der Steilküste Weg.
  • Park in Tintagel (10 Autominuten) und entweder zu Fuß 15 Minuten oder Sie nehmen die landrover Service bis (oder eher wieder ab) des Schlosses.

Für einen kurzen Rundweg: park in Tintagel, durch das Pfarrhaus zur Kirche gehen, entlang der Küste nach der Burg, entlang der Küste weiter Barras Nose dann den Weg ins Landesinnere zum Castle Hotel und zurück entlang Atlantic Drive in Tintagel.

Fotos von Tintagel Haven auf Flickr

Mehr info

Tintagel Haven (Castle Beach)

Tintagel Haven - the beach next to Tintagel Castle in North Cornwall
Tintagel Haven
Tintagel Haven - photographed from Tintagel Castle in North Cornwall, by Angela Channing
View from the castle
Tintagel Haven - sunset from Barras Nose
Sunset from Barras Nose
Merlin's Cave beneath Tintagel Castle, photographed from the inside looking out onto Tintagel Haven
Looking out from Merlin's Cave
Kayaking at Tintagel Haven
Kayaking in Tintagel Haven

Below the the island upon which Tintagel Castle is perched, there is a small sheltered pebble beach, known locally as Castle Beach although on maps you'll see it marked as Tintagel Haven. Slate from the coastal quarries was brought here by donkey, and loaded onto beached ships which also brought in cargoes such as Welsh coal. Beside the waterfall is the remains of a derrick which was used to winch the cargo to and from the beach. In order to manoeuvre them around the dangerous rocks, ships were "hobbled" (towed by rowing boats then manoeuvred by gangs of men pulling on ropes).

On the left side of the beach is Merlin's Cave, and to the back of the beach is a waterfall where the stream running through the Vale of Avalon meets the sea.

Being sheltered by Castle Island on the left and Barras Nose on the right, it is a good spot for a swim or snorkel and is rich in marine life. There are kelp beds along each side inhabited by pollack, bass and several species of wrasse and grey seals are often around.

There is a large flat rock just out to the right from the beach which you can climb down to from the coast path. This is a good spot to fish from at high tide for mackerel, bass and, at dusk, pollack.

Although the sheltered beach is in principle a good spot to launch kayaks, the lack of parking and the long flight of steps to the beach make this more challenging (but not impossible).

Directions

You can walk along the coast path from Trebarwith Strand to Tintagel Haven (about a mile) so you can do a 4-5 mile circular walk starting at Park Farm and coming back through Tintagel (there is a circular route mapped out on our walks page). Alternatively if you drive, there are a couple of possibilities for parking:

  • Park at St Materiana church (5 min drive) and walk 15 minutes along the cliff path.
  • Park in Tintagel (10 min drive) and either walk 15 mins or catch the landrover service down to (or more likely back up from) the castle.

For a short circular walk: park in Tintagel, walk through the vicarage to the church, along the coast to the castle, continue along the coast to Barras Nose then take the path inland to the Castle Hotel and back along Atlantic Drive into Tintagel.

Photos of Tintagel Haven on Flickr

More info