Crackington Haven

Crackington Haven bei Ebbe
Crackington Haven bei Ebbe
Trails in rockpools
Trails in rockpools
Coastline near Crackington Haven
Coastline at Crackington

Crackington Haven ist ein Kieselstrand bei Flut aber durchaus einen großen Sandstrand bei Ebbe. Es ist ein ziemlich großer Parkplatz mit ein paar Cafés und einem Pub direkt hinter dem Strand und Toiletten von der Spur ab an den Strand. Obwohl es recht busy im Sommer bekommt, bedeutet das große Strand bei Ebbe und Parkplatz es nicht zu überfüllt.

Der Strand wird von Rettungsschwimmern im Sommer patrouillierten so eines der sichereren Orten mit kleinen Kindern nördlich von Boscastle so lange gehen, wie Sie gehen bei Ebbe, wenn es sandig ist und bleiben zwischen den Fahnen ist. Crackington Haven ist nach Westen ausgerichtet, so dass die Brandung ist am besten, wenn es ein östlicher Wind um Ebbe, wenn der Strand ist weniger steil.

Entlang der linken Seite des Strandes gibt es eine Welle-cut Rock plaform die viel rockpools, in den Rissen, die das Meer hat zwischen den hochkant Gesteinsschichten getragen gebildet enthält. Diese enthalten eine Vielzahl von Wildtieren, darunter Krabben, Schleimfische, Anemonen und einem Bonsai-Wald von verschiedenen Algen. Die Weichtiere sind besonders künstlerischen, wodurch Labyrinth Muster in der Entstaubung von Sand innerhalb einiger der rockpools.

Die Touristeninformation in Tintagel hat eine Broschüre (kostet 60p) für ein 4 Meile (steil) Rundweg um Crackington, die viele Informationen über die Geschichte der Region hat.

Wettervorhersage

Aktuelle Surfbedingungen

Anfahrt von Tintagel

Biegen Sie rechts auf die B3263, folgen Sie der Straße bis T-Kreuzung und biegen links in die T-Kreuzung ausgeschildert Camelford, gehe quer durch Offset-Kreuzung und über Slaughterbridge; Biegen Sie links an T-Kreuzung auf A39.

Wanderungen zu Crackington Haven

Fotos von Crackington Haven auf Flickr

Mehr info

Crackington Haven

Crackington Haven at low tide
Crackington Haven at low tide
Trails in rockpools
Trails in rockpools
Coastline near Crackington Haven
Coastline at Crackington

Until the nineteenth century, Crackington Haven was a small port, importing limestone and coal and exporting local produce such as slate. When the railways reached the district in 1893, the beach could be reached more easily (from Otterham Station) and became popular with holidaymakers.

As the tide falls, the pebble beach gives way to a large sandy beach. It is west-facing and consequently quite popular for surfing when the tide is out, but care must be taken of the rocks on either side. The rocky ridges along the left side of the beach trap seawater, forming rockpools which support a range of shorelife.

The beach is patrolled by lifeguards in the Summer so it's one of the safer places to go with young children north of Boscastle as long as you go at low tide when it's sandy and stay between the flags. Crackington Haven faces west so the surf is best when there's an easterly wind around low tide when the beach is less steep.

Along the left side of the beach there is a wave-cut rock plaform which contains lots of rockpools, formed in the cracks that the sea has worn between the upended rock layers. These contain a lot of wildlife including crabs, blennies, anemonies and a bonsai forest of different seaweeds. The molluscs are particularly artistic, making maze patterns in the dusting of sand within some of the rockpools.

The tourist information centre in Tintagel has a leaflet (costing 60p) for a 4 mile (steep) circular walk around Crackington which has lots of information about the history of the area.

Weather forecast

Current surf conditions

Directions from Tintagel

Turn right onto the B3263; follow road to T junction; Turn left at T junction signposted Camelford; go straight across offset crossroads and over Slaughterbridge; Turn left at t-junction onto A39.

Walks to Crackington Haven

Photos of Crackington Haven on Flickr

More info